I\'m A Badass Caption: I can haz links, style or anything that is valid markup :)

CD/DVD Releases: Full Discography Of Elegy To Be Released In March

Posted on Thursday, February 26 @ 05:07:32 UTC by nightowl

Looking back on the long career of the band, who have sold more than 250,000 albums in more than 30 countries worldwide, the name Elegy might not have been the best one to choose, even though the dictionary?s explanation is rock solid. Considering the ups and downs the band has gone through, the name has covered a lot for the past 17 years. Metal Mind Productions is proud to present a set of 7 albums covering the band?s entire musical history to date:

Labyrinth Of Dreams (1992) :: Elegy?s debut LP is an album packed with top-notch progressive metal tunes, thunderous drums and bass, breathtaking twin guitar solos and the dramatic and crystal clear vocals of Eduard Hovinga. Soon after its release, Elegy took Japan by storm - an exclusive sold out show in Osaka took place, as also an extensive promo tour, while Europe still seemed ignorant of their unique sound. The album came out in 1992 and some people compared it to Dream Theater?s Images And Words, which was released the same year. It was a great album that got totally overlooked at the time of its first release. The new digipak edition includes 2 bonus demo tracks.


1. The Grand Change
2. I?m No fool
3. Take My Love
4. All Systems Go (instrumental)
5. Trouble In Paradise
6. Over And Out 7. Labyrinth Of Dreams
8. Mass Hysteria (instrumental)
9. Powergames
10. The Guiding Light

Bonus tracks:

11. The Guiding Light (demo)
12. Ballad (demo Henk?s 1st instrumental)

Supremacy (1993) :: The band?s second full-length album from 1993. That year Ed Warbie personally introduced his successor Dirk Bruinenberg whilst he joined a Dutch band Gorefest. Gilbert Pot filled the slot of the second guitar player, left vacant by van Brussel, to record Supremacy, which in all ways shows their drive to thrive on an action packed release. Japan glorified the quintet that found themselves on the verge of a breakthrough. The new digipak edition includes 2 bonus demo tracks.


1. Windows Of The World
2. Angels Grace
3. Poisoned Hearts
4. Lust For Life
5. Anouk
6. Circles In The Sand
7. Darkest Night
8. Close Your Eyes
9. Supremacy
10. Erase Me

Bonus tracks:
11. All Systems Go (instrumental) (demo)
12. The Grand Change (demo)

Lost (1995) :: The band's third and final album with Dutch vocalist Eduard Hovinga. While the name of the band itself conjures up dark imagery, musically, it's melodic prog with a punch. Lost constitutes an improvement over their previous release Supremacy, which played out almost like a concept album and which for all practical purposes was a fantastic album, yet it lacked the variety that drives Lost. This mixture of pop / prog / metal music shows great variety, with an instrumental and busy up-tempo prog, and two very emotionally stirring ballads. The album features "Under Gods Naked Eye" - Elegy's finest song, a four minute and 50 second masterpiece. The new digipack edition includes 2 bonus tracks ? demo songs recorded in 1990.


1. Lost
2. Everything
3. Clean Up Your Act
4. Always With You
5. Under Gods Naked Eye
6. 1998 (instrumental)
7. Spirits
8. Crossed The Line
9. Live It Again
10. Spanish Inquisition

Bonus tracks:
11. I?m No Fool ? demo 1990
12. Labyrinth Of Dreams ? demo 1990

Primal Instinct (1996) :: An acoustic EP consisting of tracks taken from Elegy's earlier albums. It was the band?s first release with Ian Parry on vocals. The new digipak edition includes bonus tracks ? 1 demo track plus 4 songs recorded in 1998 during the acoustic session in Japan, when Ian Parry was only supported by Henk van der Laars on the guitar.


1. Take My Love
2. Labyrinth Of Dreams
3. Always With You
4. Spirits
5. Erase Me

Bonus tracks:

6. Always With You (live acoustic sessions Ian & Henk, Japan ?98)
7. Angel Without Wings (live acoustic sessions Ian & Henk, Japan ?98)
8. The Forgotten (live acoustic sessions Ian & Henk, Japan ?98)
9. Spirits (live acoustic sessions Ian & Henk, Japan ?98)
10. Wish It Was Christmas Everyday (demo bonus)

State Of Mind (1997) :: Elegy?s fourth full-length album from 1997. With raving reviews all over the world, it sold more than 45,000 copies, resulting in a successful 30 date tour in Europe and the band performing to more than 30,000 people. State Of Mind showcases an expanded field of operation thanks to Parry?s wide range and it tops its predecessors on all accounts. Elegy filmed their debut video clip "Visual Vortex," which was broadcast by Viva T.V. Germany, TMF Holland, M-Sat Hungary and the infamous Captain Wada TV show in Japan, followed by a Japanese tour in Osaka and Tokyo, where Ian was nominated in the Burrn! magazine readers poll in the best singers of 1997 category. The new digipak edition includes 3 bonus demo tracks.


1. Equinox (instrumental)
2. Visual Vortex
3. Trust
4. Beyond
5. Shadow Dancer
6. Aladdin?s Cave
7. State Of Mind
8. Destiny Calling
9. Resurrection (instrumental)
10. Loser?s Game
11. Suppression

Bonus tracks:

12. Trust (demo)
13. Shadow Dancer (demo)
14. Suppression (demo)

Manifestation Of Fear (1998) :: The band?s fifth studio album. The lyrical concept was contrived by Ian. It is a tale of a young man growing up in a poor and criminal environment who, after years of manipulating others, is helped by a woman who makes him change his ways and repair all the damage he?d done to others. After the release of the album Ian Parry and Henk van der Laars flew over to Japan to do a week of acoustic performances before heading back to Europe to tour with Kamelot. The new digipack edition includes 3 bonus tracks.


1. Unorthodox Methods
2. Frenzy
3. Angel Without Wings
4. Savage Grace
5. Master Of Deception
6. Solitary Day (Living In An Ivory Tower)
7. Manifestation Of Fear
8. Victim Of Circumstance
9. The Forgotten
10. Redemption (instrumental)
11. Metamorphosis

Bonus tracks:

12. Solitary Day (extended version Japan)
13. Master Of Deception (demo)
14. Metamorphosis (demo)

Principles Of Pain (2002) :: The band?s masterpiece. It was the first Elegy album fully produced Ian Parry. Principles Of Pain was technical in a Progressive Power metal style, containing 2 ballads, 2 Neo-Classical up-tempo double bass drum tracks, and many mid-tempo melodic metal tracks with catchy chorus lines. Much to the fans' surprise, "Missing Persons" features former vocalist Eduard Hovinga in duet with Parry. It?s an action-packed metal album bursting with musical craftsmanship and extraordinary songwriting, and perhaps one of the most underrated metal albums of the last decade. The new digipak edition includes 4 bonus tracks.


1. Under My Skin
2. The Inner Room
3. No Code No Honour
4. Walking Nightmare
5. Pilgrims Parade
6. Principles Of Pain
7. Creatures Of Habit
8. Silence In The Wind
9. Hypothesis
10. Missing Persons
11. A Child?s Breath

Bonus Tracks:
12. Sacred (Bonus Japan)
13. Under My Skin (Demo)
14. No Code No Honour (Demo)
15. Pilgrims Parade (Demo)

Elegy?s re-issues will be available in a new digipak edition, digitally remastered using 24-Bit process on a golden disc. Each title is limited to 1000 copies. The release date is set up for 23rd March in Europe and 5th May in USA (via MVD).

[Source: Metal Mind]

Posted in Album Release News