I\'m A Badass Caption: I can haz links, style or anything that is valid markup :)

CD/DVD Releases: Metal Mind Presents The Complete Discography Of Crimson Glory

Posted on Tuesday, July 06 @ 07:00:00 UTC by nightowl

Metal Mind Productions presents the complete discography of one of the best and most influential prog-metal bands of the 80?s ? Crimson Glory.

The exclusive 5 CD box entitled In Dark Places?1986-2000 contains all of their studio albums: Crimson Glory, Transcendence, Strange And Beautiful, Astronomica (2CD). The box also includes bonus tracks, such as songs taken from singles, videos, live or demo tracks plus a 60 pages booklet. All recordings are remastered using tube technology. Box is limited to 1000 numbered copies and is a must-have for all fans of the band as well as for the lovers of the progressive metal genre!

Crimson Glory?s origin reaches the 80?s, when the band emerged with a dazzling combination of early Queensryche style, fascinating guitar melodies and distinctive, emotive vocals. The line-up, consisting of Ben Jackson (guitars), Jon Drenning (guitars), Jeff Lords (bass), Dana Burnell (drums) and Midnight (vocals) recorded two albums ? Crimson Glory and Transcendence, both bringing the band a large number of devoted fans. The unique musical mixture, followed by a characteristic image (all band members wore silver masks) marked the beginning of a prog metal legend. But the band did not wish to be captivated in only one musical style.

With their third album, Crimson Glory reached far beyond simple power metal musicianship, replacing it with complex, precise songwriting, controversial both in sound and structure. Strange And Beautiful turned out as an epic musical experience, filled with elements borrowed from prog metal, as well as blues and hard rock. For some fans the band explored far too commercial regions, but others greeted Crimson Glory?s evolution enthusiastically. Unfortunately, after the release of their third LP the group stepped down from the scene for six years.

It wasn?t until 1997 when Jon Drenning and Jeff Lords decided to reunite Crimson Glory. Ben Jackson?s return was a great start to the process; however it was soon clear that this trio would be the only remaining members of the original line-up, as vocalist Midnight was at that time not interested in recording a new album. Drenning, Lords and Jackson had a tough decision on whom to set as a replacement for the charismatic singer. The final choice was Wade Black, whose vocals sounded much more powerful and aggressive, brining a totally new quality to Crimson Glory?s music. After adjoining ex-Savatage drummer Steve Wacholz the band was ready for a definite comeback.

In 1999 Astronomica saw daylight. The album proved the band?s great form, being both a nod to the past as well as updated for the present, retaining some of the classic guitar harmonies with a slightly more dynamic approach. Although soon after its release Black left the band to front Seven Witches and Leash Law, Crimson Glory did not cease to exist.

In May 2010 the band announced that a new singer, Todd La Torre, had joined the band. La Torre made his first (and as yet only) public appearance with Crimson Glory at ProgPower USA X as one of seventeen guest performers paying tribute to Midnight, the band's original singer who passed away in 2009. The band is currently working on their new material.

Metal Mind Productions will release In Dark Places ? 1986-2000 on 23rd August in Europe and 5th October in USA (via MVD).


CD 1 - Crimson Glory

1. Valhalla
2. Dragon Lady
3. Heart Of Steel
4. Azrael
5. Mayday
6. Queen Of The Masquerade
7. Angels Of War
8. Lost Reflection
v Bonus track:

9. Dream Dancer

CD 2 ? Transcendence

1. Lady Of Winter
2. Red Sharks
3. Painted Skies
4. Masque Of The Red Death
5. In Dark Places
6. Where Dragons Rule
7. Lonely
8. Burning Bridges
9. Eternal World
10. Transcendence

Bonus Tracks:

11. Lonely (Re-Mix)
12. Lonely (Videoclip)

CD 3 - Strange And Beautiful

1. Strange And Beautiful
2. Promise Land
3. Love And Dreams
4. The Chant
5. Dance On Fire
6. Song For Angels
7. In The Mood
8. Starchamber
9. Deep Inside Your Heart
10. Make You Love Me
11. Far Away

Bonus Track:

12. The Chant (Videoclip)

CD 4 ? Astronomica

1. March To Glory (Instrumental)
2. War Of The Worlds
3. New World Machine
4. Astronomica
5. Edge Of Forever
6. Touch The Sun
7. Lucifer's Hammer
8. The Other Side Of Midnight
9. Cyber-Christ
10. Cydonia

CD 5 ? Astronomica (disc 2)

1. War Of The Worlds - Remake
2. Astronomica - Demo Version
3. Touch The Sun - Demo Version
4. Edge Of Forever - Demo Version (bonus track)
5. Dragon Lady - Live
6. Eternal World - Live
7. Painted Skies - Live
8. Queen Of The Masquerade - Live
9. Lost Reflection - Live

[Source: Metal Mind]

Posted in Album Release News