I\'m A Badass Caption: I can haz links, style or anything that is valid markup :)

CD/DVD Releases: Android Meme's New Album Available From Magna Carta June 28

Posted on Friday, June 03 @ 23:05:00 UTC by nightowl

What if the threat of global domination by shadow governments was real and impacting us every day? What if, by employing space-age technology, these powers have programmed us to blindly obey?

Toronto-based quartet The Android Meme thinks it knows the answer to these burning questions and urges us to heed their warnings. With the release of their first full-length CD, Ordo Ab Chao, produced by Matthew von Wagner, The Android Meme might well be called rock and roll prophets, delivering a message the world needs to hear.

Tracks such as "The Machine Stops," "Sumii," "Ordo Ab Chao," "Left Right Parasite," "Whistleblower" and "Stranger" range in topics from secret societies to secret government experiments. While not a concept record in the truest sense, Ordo Ab Chao explores the mystical realm of the unseen and largely unknown - an esoteric dimension represented by the rich Masonic symbolism adorning the CD's cover artwork.

"You'll find several overarching concepts running through Ordo Ab Chao, helping to create a kind of cohesive narrative," says lead vocalist/lyricist/founder Stefano Amelio. "Our music is inherently visual. The symbols on the cover are important because they relate to how a listener will perceive this CD."

Hidden and double meanings abound on the record. For example, Ordo Ab Chao, which roughly translates to "order and chaos" (or order from chaos), is also an appropriate description of the band's music. By working in various musical styles, The Android Meme has created its own artistic identity. Ordo Ab Chao certainly offers something for everyone.

"We wanted a well-rounded record," says Amelio. "Despite some of the individual songs being completely different stylistically, they all represent 'our sound.' I like the fact that we’re difficult to label. I think that’s our strength."

Listeners will hear influences of Tool, Genesis, Peter Gabriel, Tears for Fears, Depeche Mode, Motley Crue and Rush.

The Band:

Stefano Dementia: vocals, programming, big brother
Mathias Devereaux: guitars, vocals, synthesizers, illusions
Mark Davidson: big bad bass man, webmaster
Jake Hamilton: drums, sorcery

Track List:

1) The Machine Stops
2) Sumii
3) Polar Rose
4) Sigma
5) Ordo Ab Chao
6) Left Right Parasite
7) Esoterika
8) Spook
9) Whistleblower
10) Stranger

Release Date: June 28. 2011 via Magna Carta

[Source: Magna Carta]

Posted in Album Release News