I\'m A Badass Caption: I can haz links, style or anything that is valid markup :)

CD/DVD Releases: Lana Lane Announces New Album, ''El Dorado Hotel''

Posted on Monday, January 16 @ 18:00:00 UTC by nightowl

The iconic symphonic rock vocalist returns after a 4-year hiatus

After a four-year break since her last album, Lana Lane is back with her most powerful release to date, El Dorado Hotel. The veteran symphonic rock diva delivers a 10-song tour-de-force of finely crafted original tracks in an audiophile production by husband/keyboardist, Erik Norlander.

El Dorado Hotel hosts Lane's usual broad spectrum of musical styles and genres with a cohesiveness that fans of the artist will recognize instantly. The opener, "A Dream Full Of Fire," is a new Lana Lane classic that blurs the line between prog metal and jazz stylings in a mélange that only she can deliver. "Maybe We'll Meet Again" is a European-styled melodic AOR radio anthem blending classic rock with modern sensibilities. The song, "El Dorado," is a Lana Lane epic with a soaring chorus reminiscent of her classic, "Queen Of The Ocean."

The robust "Darkness Falls" introduces an Irish folk style combined with a gothic metal element with its haunting choral vocals and arena-crafted chorus. Then "Hotels" is an acoustic track that evokes jazz standards like "Autumn Leaves." The tracks, "Believe," "Life Of The Party," "Gone Are The Days" and "Moon God" add further threads to the El Dorado Hotel tapestry. The album closes with the 11-1/2 minute opus, "In Exile" that producer Erik Norlander describes as a "vintage progressive rock epic."

The musicians of El Dorado Hotel are a top-notch group of artists including both new and familiar faces. Lane says about the musicians, "Both Freddy DeMarco and Mark Matthews did some fantastic work on Erik’s solo project, The Galactic Collective. I then had the opportunity to play with them both during some live appearances in 2011 when I sang with the band. After having played with the guys and getting to know them, I knew that I wanted them to be a part of this project as well. Then for John Payne, Jay Schellen, Guthrie Govan and Bruce Bouillet (ex-Racer X) -- as you know, Erik has been playing with John Payne for about 5 years now. When the original 1982 lineup of Asia reformed a few years back, John Payne formed his own separate band to continue all the work that he had done with Asia during his 14-year run and many albums with them. So John and Erik tour as 'Asia Featuring John Payne,' and they’ve probably played over a hundred shows together. Jay is the drummer in the band, and both Guthrie and Bruce have been the guitarists. Bruce is working with them currently. I of course go to a lot of their shows and have become friends with all of them. It is a great group of people, and they are all very talented musicians. Since we see them so much and Erik plays with them constantly, it was only natural to work with them on this album. And then finally for Mark McCrite, Neil Citron and Don Schiff, all three of them have been on so many Lana Lane albums going all the back to my very first album in 1995. It's great to continue working with them through all these years."

Songs for El Dorado Hotel were written by Lana Lane, Erik Norlander and longtime collaborator, Mark McCrite, who comments, "My favorite songs on the album are 'El Dorado' (with the fantastic Spanish guitar) and 'A Dream Full Of Fire' - that's a really killer 'classic' Lana Lane track." You can hear those two songs from the album in their entirety at the Think Tank Media web site: www.thetank.com/lledh.htm

Lana Lane - El Dorado Hotel musicians:

Lana Lane - vocals
Erik Norlander - keyboards, additional guitars, bass and programming


John Payne - harmony and choral vocals, mandolin
Mark McCrite - guitars, bass, choral vocals, programming
Bruce Bouillet - guitars
Neil Citron - guitars
Freddy DeMarco - guitars
Guthrie Govan - guitar
Don Schiff - NS/Stick
Mark Matthews - bass
Jay Schellen - drums

Produced by Erik Norlander for Think Tank Media, USA

El Dorado Hotel track list

01 A Dream Full Of Fire [8:25]
02 Maybe We'll Meet Again [5:39]
03 El Dorado [6:12]
04 Darkness Falls [5:12]
05 Hotels [3:40]
06 Believe [6:03]
07 Life Of The Party [4:03]
08 Gone Are The Days [6:23]
09 Moon God [5:08]
10 In Exile [11:43]

Worldwide release date:

January 25, 2012 on the Think Tank Media and the Avalon (Japan) labels
Both label versions contain the identical track listing - there are no bonus tracks on any edition


[Source: Serge Entertainment PR]

Posted in Album Release News