I\'m A Badass Caption: I can haz links, style or anything that is valid markup :)

CD/DVD Releases: News Bits: Steve Vai, Dream Theater, Edenbridge...

Posted on Sunday, June 23 @ 21:28:46 UTC by nightowl

Catching up on some more news from the last couple of months...

Virtuoso guitarist and visionary composer Steve Vai released his latest studio album, The Story Of Light on vinyl April 16th worldwide. This double 180 gram LP Story Of Light set was mastered from tape and cut at 45rpm by legendary audio engineer Bernie Grundman for the best quality listening experience available on vinyl. This set also includes an entirely new redesigned 8 page vinyl booklet in a gatefold jacket. [Source: Digital Nations]


Russell Allen (Symphony X, Adrenaline Mob), Ralf Scheepers (Primal Fear, Gamma Ray), Tony Harnell (TNT, Starbreaker), Mark Boals (Yngwie Malmsteen, The Codex), Rick Altzi (Masterplan, At Vance), Mike Andersson (Star One, Full Force), Rickard Bengtsson (Last Tribe), Herman Saming (A.C.T.), David Readman (Pink Cream 69, Voodoo Circle) and Daniel Flores on drums guest on the new release from Magnus Karlsson, Magnus Karlsson's Free Fall, which was due from Frontiers Records on June 11 in North America and June 14 in Europe. [Source: Blabbermouth.net]


Jadis' Gary Chandler is working on a new solo project. One of the songs, "I Just Let It Happen," was shared via YouTube in April. The album is due to be finished by the end of the year. "The video [for the single] was assembled and edited by Lewis Chandler," Gary writes. Meanwhile, the Chandler is also "working on new Jadis material and archive tunes for the Medium Rare 2 CD..." [Source: Gary Chandler/Jadis]


Dream Theater are working on the follow up to A Dramatic Turn Of Events. Meanwhile a live DVD was to be released this May called Live At Luna Park, recorded at Estadio Luna Park, Buenos Aires, Argentina last August. [Source: Blabbermouth.net]


Edenbridge's new album, The Bonding will be released with two different sets of cover artwork for the digipak and jewel-case editions, both related but unique in terms of their design. The Bonding was released through SPV/Steamhammer in Germany on June 21, and will be in the rest of Europe on June 24 and in the U.S./Canada on July 2 as limited-edition ecol book with a different cover, including a bonus CD, double coloured LP, standard version and download.

The Bonding track listing: "Mystic River," "Alight A New Tomorrow," "Star-Crossed Dreamer," "The Invisible Force," "Into A Sea Of Souls," "Far Out Of Reach," "Shadows Of My Memory," " Death Is Not The End," "The Bonding."

Edenbridge is Sabine Edelsbacher: Lead Vocals; Lanvall: Lead, Rhythm, Acoustic Guitar, Bass, Keyboards, Piano, Kacapi; Max Pointner: Drums; Dominik Sebastian: Lead, Rhythm Guitar; Wolfgang Rothbauer: Bass, Grunts on "Shadows Of My Memory". [Source: Blabbermouth]


And in a few news bytes... UK tech-metallers Monuments have started a search for a new singer following the departure of vocalist Matt Rose... ... ... Soul Secret announced in late April that vocalist Fabio Manda had left the band and that Lino Di Pietrantonio had joined the band as vocalist; he and the band are working on their third album ... ... .... Sons Of Seasons have parted ways with their vocalist, Henning Basse... ... ... Citizen Cain's entire back catalogue has been remastered and have been released by F2Music on June 3... ... ...

Posted in Album Release News

Associated Topics

Band News (tours, comings/goings, etc)

Sorry, Comments are not available for this article.