Guitar Legend Steve Vai to Release ''Where The Other Wild Things Are''
Date: Monday, May 10 @ 19:00:00 UTC
Topic: Album Release News

The Second Companion Disc To The Original Live Concert Film Live In Minneapolis: Where The Wild Things Are
Available From April 13, 2010 on Favored Nations Entertainment

Triple GRAMMY? Award winning guitarist Steve Vai released a new live album, Where The Other Wild Things Are, on April 13, 2010 on his own Favored Nations Entertainment imprint. The 12-track album is the second companion CD to be released alongside the 2009 concert film Live In Minneapolis: Where The Wild Things Are, which is currently available on DVD and Blu-ray. The DVD made a #4 debut on Billboard's Top Music DVD Chart, went Gold in both the USA and Canada and the track "Now We Run" was nominated for a 2010 Grammy? Award for Best Rock Instrumental. This new album features songs from the DVD that were not previously released on the first CD.

Vai explains: "The original CD release for Where the Wild Things Are consisted of songs from the concert DVD that had never been released in a live format before. It's a robust CD! The other songs that were performed at the concert but were not released on the CD were burning a hole in the hard drive and beckoning me for the light of day, so I thought, even though these songs have been released in live versions with other bands from the past, my new band with the two sweetly screaming violins gives them a whole new life. So we decided to release a second disc that contains all the tracks that were not on the first disc. And there you have it, Where the Other Wild Things Are, and it's even 'robuster' than the first one."

The live concert featured on the DVD and CDs was filmed and recorded at the historic State Theatre in Minneapolis, MN before a sold-out crowd during Vai's acclaimed 2007 String Theories World Tour. Vai chose the State Theatre for its lush acoustics and equally inspiring interior - his unprecedented guitar wizardry amazes throughout the film, as do the talents of the stellar band, an ace group of players, including two violinists, Vai put together and called String Theories.

2010 marks Steve Vai's 30th Anniversary in the music business. Vai first stepped into the spotlight in 1980 as a touring member of the legendary Frank Zappa's touring band but his indelible contribution to music came during his solo career, which includes combined sales of nearly six million albums over the last three decades.

Vai is currently in the studio recording his next solo album for Favored Nations Entertainment. He will then embark on a World Tour that will take him through all of 2011.

Performance Track Listing:

1. The Crying Machine
2. The Audience Is Listening
3. The Murder
4. Juice
5. Whispering A Prayer
6. Apples In Paradise
7. I'm Becoming
8. Beastly Rap
9. Earthquake Sky
10. Liberty
11. Answers
12. For The Love Of God

To veiw the trailer to the DVD Live In Minneapolis: Where The Wild Things Are visit


[Source: Favored Nations]

This article comes from

The URL for this story is: