Poverty's No Crime - Slave To The Mind

Year of Release: 1999
Label: InsideOut
Catalog Number: IOMCD 039/SPV 085-31662CD
Format: CD
Total Time: 51:39:00

Finally, the wait is over. A couple of years went by without any news on this talented band and now in June 1999 they return with their third album, Slave To The Mind, on Inside Out records. The 1996 release Autumn Years showed great progress compared to the debut Symbiosis - so my expectations for Slave To The Mind were rather high.

The CD kicks off with "Access Denied," a blistering performance of quality melodic progressive metal. Stylistically this is typical Poverty's No Crime: powerful, groovy guitars, good keys and a totally killer guitar-solo during the intro, which focus on melody, not speed. Great mid-range vocals, a killer melody-line and, of course, a great chorus. This also set the standard for the rest of the album. There are no fillers in sight here. The band's sense of writing great melody lines is their biggest advantage. Although they are not overly progressive, every song is filled with enough variation to keep the listener interested. The songs can at times be incredible groovy, but in the next moment they float over in more atmospheric and emotive parts. And I also have to praise the melodic solo guitar that is frequently used in intros, verses and various parts of the songs. These solos give the songs even more melody.

The production is top-notch and there is not anything particular to put your finger on. The band has grown both as musicians and song writers, and the band stand up as very confident. If the band keep developing like they have since the debut, I dare not think about how good the next album will be. Fans of the band should pick this one up immediately and those who don't know them, do yourself a favour and get this CD. You won't be disappointed.

PPO Rating: 8/10

[This review originally appeared November 2002 at the ProgPower Online review site (though clearly written before then) -ed.]

Access Denied / The Distant Call / A Matter Of Mind / The Senses Go Blind / Wind And Light / Manic / Electronic Eyes / Now And Again / Live In The Light

Marco Ahrens - guitars
Marcello Maniscalco - keyboards & vocals
Andreas Tegeler - drums
Volker Walsemann - vocals & guitars
Christian Scheele - bass

Symbiosis (1995)
Autumn Years (1996)
Slave To The Mind (1999)
One In A Million (2001)
The Chemical Chaos (2003)
Save My Soul (2007)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin DE

Added: January 17th 2005
Reviewer: Bjørnar Bevolden
Artist website: www.povertys-no-crime.de
Hits: 1043
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]