Sherinian, Derek - Inertia

Year of Release: 2001
Label: InsideOut
Catalog Number: IOMCD 077
Format: CD
Total Time: 46:59:00

Inertia is one of the few discs I bought in 2001. It?s immediately necessary to say it wasn?t a good expense.

When I learned of this release, I was attracted by the very famous guests who play in it. Simon Phillips (Toto, Jeff Beck, Who), Steve Lukather (Toto and many many, many other projects), Zakk Wylde (Ozzy Osbourne), Tom Kennedy (Dave Weckl Band) and so on. All great musicians. I wondered how it came out. Well, I have to say the final result is less convincing than I expected.

This album is a mix of metal, progressive and fusion, but after only a few times playing it, I'll bet that you'll get to be bored of listening, too. At the start I was excited but after having listened to it for more or less ten times, this feeling disappeared.

I don?t like the metal pieces (those ones played by Zakk Wylde) and the others that have prog influences aren?t involving. I think only few tracks save themselves. I am speaking of "Good Porkpie Hat," which is a blues piece by Charles Mingus where Lukather demonstrates he is a great blues player; "What A Shame" is a wonderful track by Sherinian and Pitrelli and is the only one where Wylde and Lukather perform together; and "Mata Hari," which is my favorite, has an oriental sound plus a fusion style.

In other words, this work is far from some of the more successful discs on which Sherinian plays, like Platypus. And yet Derek has great skills! I think I?ll give him another chance.

Now I?m concluding, maybe I have been too critical. Readers, what do you think?

Also released by InsideOut Music America (IOMA 2023-2)

Inertia (4:20) / Frankenstein (3:31) / Mata Hari (6:21) / Evel Knievel (3:17) La Pera Loca (5:06) / Goodbye Porkpie Hat (6:23) / Astroglide (4:35) / What A Shame (5:01) / Rhapsody Intro (1:41) / Rhapsody In Black (6:40)

Derek Sherinian - keyboards
Steve Lukather - guitars (1, 3, 5, 6, 8-10)
Zakk Wylde - guitars (2, 4, 8)
Simon Phillips - drums
Tom Kennedy - bass (1, 6, 10)
Tony Franklin - bass (2 - 4, 8)
Jimmy Johnson (5)
Jerry Goodman - violin (1, 7)

Dream Theater - A Change Of Seasons (1995)
Dream Theater - Falling Into Infinity (1997)
Dream Theater - Once In A Livetime (1998)
Planet X (1998)
Platypus - When Pus Comes To Shove (1999)
Planet X - Universe (2000)
Platypus - Ice Cycles (2000)
Inertia (2001)
Planet X - Live From Oz (2001)
Planet X - Moon Babies (2002)
Black Utopia (2003)
Mythology (2004)
Blood Of The Snake (2006)
Planet X - Quantum (2007)
Molecular Heinosity (2009)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin US

Added: February 23rd 2003
Reviewer: Davide Guidone

Artist website:
Hits: 1249
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]