Proto-Kaw - The Wait Of Glory

Year of Release: 2006
Label: InsideOut
Catalog Number: IOMCD 235/SPV 48772
Format: CD
Total Time: 70:45:00

After the smoke has cleared, it appears that Proto-Kaw is here to stay with its latest release, The Wait Of Glory. This second chance has been seized, showing there is vital music left in these old bones. New members Mike Patrum (drums), and Jake Livgren (guitar, sax, percussion, and vocals) are brought on board to now take Proto-Kaw from reunion to full time status.

The lead off track "Nevermore" sums up what the band is about, great musical interludes mixing guitars, keyboards, horns and flutes, wrapped in melodic song structures. Kerry Livgren's compositions have a powerful and dramatic delivery, and are very uplifting. "When The Rains Come" is another example of using all the instruments to create a wide dynamic range. Dare I say the band gets a little funky with the horns that open "Physic" with a rocking groove, and a few solos before the vocals kick in. Keyboardist Dan Wright is a treasure (where did this guy hide for 30 years?), as his solos and tasteful keyboard playing are a key component. "Old Number 63" may be the oddest song, with kick ass musical moments, completely contradicted by an odd talking/vocal that takes the wind out of the song's sails.

The songs begin to hit you after a few listens, but one song that sticks is "Osvaldo's Groceries." Being unable to shake this track, it begs the question, should the band play more instrumental music? The answer is without question YES! Vocalist Lynn Meredith has a good voice, but the songs seem to grow, rock, and hit their stride during the instrumental sections.

The Limited Edition version (IOMSECD 235/SPV 48770) features a bonus live DVD shot at the band's appearance at the Progressive Arts NEARfest Pre-show. This three song disc looks and sounds great, and is well worth the extra few bucks to have. InsideOut continues to put out top notch packaging with their releases. The only criticism is that they could experiment a little more, but The Wait Of Glory leaves no doubt that Livgren did the right thing in bringing his mates back together, this is a fun and talented band to listen to.

Nevermore (9:15) / Relics Of The Tempest (5:06) / When The Rains Come (8:54) / On The Eve Of The Great Decline (4:49) / Physic (5:42) / At Mornings Gate (3:08) / Melicus Gladiator (4:50) / The Vigil (7:18) / Old Number 63 (6:50) / Osvaldo's Groceries (3:15) / Picture This (6:30) / Bonus Track : One Fine Day (4:32)

DVD: The Occasion Of Your Honest Dreaming (6:12) / Words Of Honor (4:40) / Skont (8:01)

Lynn Meredith - vocals
John Bolton - saxaphone & flute
Kerry Livgren - guitar, keyboard, piano, percussion, vocals
Dan Wright - organ, keyboards
Jake Livgren - guitar, saxophone, percussion, vocals
Craig Kew - bass, vocals
Mike Patrum - drums

Additional Players:

Daryl Batchelor - trumpet, flugelhorn

Early Recordings From Kansas 1971-1973 (2002)
Before Became After (2004)
The Wait Of Glory (2006)

Genre: Progressive Rock

Origin US

Added: February 22nd 2006
Reviewer: Eric Porter

Artist website:
Hits: 910
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]