Sonata Arctica - Songs Of Silence - Live In Tokyo

Year of Release: 2001
Label: Spinefarm
Catalog Number: SPI147
Format: CD
Total Time: 69:44:00

I have always liked Sonata Arctica with their refreshing melodic metal. What I like the most [about] these youngsters is the ability of their singer, Tony Kakko, to deliver such incredible and complex vocal lines. So when it was announced that they would be releasing a live album, I was more than happy to finally have a chance to hear if they were capable of delivering such great melodies live.

So, what's the verdict? Despite some minor glitches here and there, and a voice tending to growl at the end of high notes, he does the job. In fact, he's even stronger than I thought he would be. The kind of melodies he sings are not the easiest ones, and he delivers here a stellar live performance. Throughout the amazing set list - 14 tracks! - Sonata Arctica cover more tracks from their Silence album than their debut Ecliptica ("Full Moon" and "Kingdom For A Heart" being the highlights from their debut). The band is simply top notch. They are sometimes not that tight, but overall they are really strong live. Something I disliked about some songs was the fact that they modulated them so Kakko would sing it lower, which kills the mood of songs like "Wolf And Raven."

Overall, this is my live album of the year. A live album not overdubbed, which makes you get the feeling of what they are like on stage. The Japanese edition comes with a second CD featuring three extra live tracks - "Blank File" and "Land Of The Free" - and the song "Peacemaker" (which can be found on their "Wolf And Raven" single) which makes this live album something more than a simple "best-of" release.

Similar To: Stratovarius, Helloween, Angra

[This review originally appeared November 2002 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]

Intro / Weballergy / Kingdom For A Heart / Sing In Silence / False News Travel Fast / Last Drop Falls / Respect The Wilderness / Fullmoon / The End Of This Chapter / The Power Of One* / Replica / My Land / Black Sheep / Wolf & Raven

Bonus Disc (JP version): Blank File / Land Of The Free / Peacemaker (studio version)

Tony Kakko - vocals
Jani Liimatainen - guitars
Tommy Portimo - drums
Marko Paasikoski - bass
Mikko H?rkin - keyboards

Ecliptica (1999/2003)
Successor (ep) (2000)
Silence (2001)
Orientation (2001) (Japan Only ep)
Songs Of Silence - Live In Tokyo (2002)
Winterheart's Guild (2003)
Takatalvi (ep) (2003/2004)
Reckoning Night (2004)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin FI

Added: January 31st 2005
Reviewer: Mathieu Chamberland
Artist website:
Hits: 1066
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]