Royal Hunt - Fear

Year of Release: 1999
Label: Rondel Records/Majestic Entertainment
Catalog Number: RRCD RH501
Format: CD
Total Time: 49:07:00

So here it is, the new release by Royal Hunt. After the rather dramatic split with singer DC Cooper, the band teamed up with another vocal-God John West (Artension). The expectations of this CD have been quite big although many thought that the split with Cooper would be something close to as a musical-suicide. Also the question on how Royal Hunt would sound with West has been quite interesting and exciting as well.

The CD has 7 tracks and stylistically the songs follow in the same direction as the excellent Paradox. That means what we get here is classically influenced symphonic, slightly progressive, keyboard-laden melodic metal. First, let me say that the CD is beautifully produced, crisp and clear, where every instrument come to it's right. As always Andre Andersen's varied keys is everywhere and the guitar work of Jacob Kj&alig;r is as tasty as ever and work out very well with Andresen's keyboard work. There are even some very cool bass-solos to be found this time. The songs vary from being up-tempo rockers, through more technical instrumental parts and passages, to beautiful mellow, dreamy verses. The Glenn Hughes influenced vocals of John West are of course excellent, although personally I would like to hear him taking more chances, as I think he stays a bit on the safe side here. Don't get me wrong, the talent and feeling of his voice is undeniable, and it would not be fair to say who has the best voice of Cooper and West. They are both among the best there is!

Although this doesn't bring anything new under the sun, all songs are of high quality and in classic Royal Hunt style. When it comes to the quality of the songs, the CD is very even, although I still miss a few more killer songs like Paradox had. No doubt, Royal Hunt are still up there among the best of them. Fear is a great album that no fans of the band would want to be without. If you like Paradox and Moving Target this is a safe purchase.

[This review originally appeared June 2002 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]

Fear (9:38) / Faces Of War (6:56) / Cold City Lights (5:23) / Lies (7:44) / Follow Me (6:22) / Voices (5:20) / Sea of Time (7:44)

Andre Andersen - keyboards
Allen Sorensen - drums
Steen Mogensen - bass
John West - vocals
Jacob Kjaer - guitars
Kenny L?bcke - backing vocals

Land Of The Broken Hearts (1992)
Clown In The Mirror (1993)
The Maxi EP (1993)
Moving Target (1995)
Far Away (ep) (1995)
Live 1996 (1996)
Double Live In Japan (1996)
Paradox (1997)
Closing The Chapter (1998)
Fear (1999)
The Mission (2001)
The Watchers (2002)
Eyewitness (2003)
Paper Blood (2005)
Live 2006 (2006) Paradox II: Collision Course (2008)
X (2010)
Show Me How To Live (2011)
A Life To Die For (2013)
Devil's Dozen (2015)

Live 2006 (DVD) (2006)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin DK

Added: February 19th 2005
Reviewer: Bjørnar Bevolden
Artist website:
Hits: 1568
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]