Shadow Keep - Shadow Keep

Year of Release: 1999
Label: Limb Music Products
Catalog Number: n/a
Format: CD
Total Time: 33:23:00

This interesting band was formed in March '99 when vocalist Rogue M. joined a songwriting pair of guitar players - Chris Allen and Nicki Robson. These two were desperately looking for that perfect voice for their compositions. Apparently Rogue was the man for the job. Not long after, a bassist and a drummer were added in James Daley and Russell King. This 6 track EP was produced by none other than Karl Groom of Threshold fame, who usually does brilliant work, and the band themselves. What we get here is guitar-heavy, powerful, yet melodic power metal with a progressive touch. When I say prog metal, it's more in the lines of the early Fates Warning, Queensryche, Crimson Glory-school of prog metal. The dual guitar attack is very impressive, and well worked through. The drum-work is awesome and the bass is present and clear. The controlled, high-pitched vocals of Rogue are of very good standard and should be appreciated by those into the above-mentioned bands respective vocalists. Good stuff!

The handful of songs on this CD all hold good quality, with opener "Dark Tower" as an immediate favourite. The CD has a great production, coming off clear and powerful. Not much more to say really, just that they should keep up this great work and try to maintain the same good quality when writing new songs. I would not be surprised to see this band signed soon. Fans of above-mentioned bands and relative newcomers Steel Prophet and Jacob's Dream should get this CD right away. [Though probably not available from Limb Music anymore, it seems available through the band's website -ed]

[This review originally appeared May 2003 at the ProgPower Online review site -ed.]

Dark Tower (4:42) / Inner Sanctum (6:42) / Altar Of Madness (4:47) / Cast Out (4:50) / The Silver Sword (6:41) / Murder (7:01)

Rogue M. - lead and background vocals
Chris Allen - lead guitars
Nicki Robson - rhythm guitar
James Daley - bass
Russell King - drums

Shadow Keep (EP) (1999)
Corruption Within (2000)
A Chaos Theory (2001)
The Hourglass Effect (2008)

Genre: Progressive-Power Metal

Origin UK

Added: February 20th 2005
Reviewer: Bjørnar Bevolden
Artist website:
Hits: 1035
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]