Planet X - Moon Babies

Year of Release: 2002
Label: InsideOut
Catalog Number: IOMCD 106
Format: CD
Total Time: 55:02:00

Amazing musical chops are on display on Planet X's Moonbabies. But, no matter how good players are technically, it does not necessarily translate to good songs. This is even more difficult when performing instrumental music, you need strong music to define each song. The intensity alone is enough to keep your attention through the first few tracks here. The songs are complex, yet many of the lines are rock solid and do stick in your head.

Planet X is made up of ex-Dream Theater keyboardist Derek Sherinian, drummer Virgil Donati, and guitarist Tony MacAlpine. All veterans of the music scene, along with guest appearances on bass by Billy Sheehan among others. Production duties were handled by drummer extrodinaire Simon Phillips.

The title track rocks hard for the most part, but briefly falls into a jazzy bass jam towards the end. Great licks abound here. A metal-jazz/fusion combo makes up ?The Noble Savage? and has some amazing bite and force. The interplay between Sherinian and Macalpine is really brought out. The constant musical shifts and changes really impress me, as this band has plenty of ideas. The overall feel can best be described as fusion with balls.

Moonbabies (5:37) / The Noble Savage (6:12) / Ataraxia (6:15) / 70 VIR (4:00) / Boy With A Flute (5:56) / Interlude In Milan (4:38) / Digital Vertigo (4.22) / Ground Zero (6:00) / Midnight Bell (3:54) / Ignotus Per Ignotium (9:28)

Derek Sherinian - keyboards
Virgil Donati - drums
Tony MacAlpine - guitars
Billy Sheehan, Tom Kennedy, Jimmy Johnson - bass

Planet X (1998)
Universe (1999)
Live From Oz (2002)
Moon Babies (2002)
Quantum (2007)

Genre: Fusion-Jazz Fusion

Origin VA

Added: July 27th 2003
Reviewer: Eric Porter

Artist website:
Hits: 727
Language: english


[ Back to Reviews Index | Post Comment ]