I\'m A Badass Caption: I can haz links, style or anything that is valid markup :)

CD/DVD Releases: Erik Norlander Announces New Project, The ''Galactic Collective''

Posted on Monday, April 12 @ 00:00:00 UTC by nightowl

In the spirit of his much acclaimed Rocket Scientists' Looking Backward multimedia box set comes a new combination DVD/CD release from symphonic rock keyboard virtuoso Erik Norlander. The Galactic Collective is a fresh and innovative take on the best of Erik?s vast instrumental catalog written for Rocket Scientists, Lana Lane, and his own solo albums over the years.

The versatile keyboardist recorded with an astounding array of classic analog synthesizers, Hammond organ, and a Steinway grand piano at Cleveland?s Magnetic North Studio with engineer Chris Keffer (Syzygy) and executive producer Dena Henry with bassist Mark Matthews, drummer Nick Lepar, and a cadre of stellar guest guitarists including John Payne (Asia), Mitch Perry (Asia Featuring John Payne, MSG) along with leading Ohio artists Freddy DeMarco and Ron Redfield.

The Galactic Collective CD/DVD audiophile package will be released by Chian Productions. A CD/DVD Release Concert was held on March 27th 2010 at The Shore Cultural Centre Theater in Euclid, OH which included a special area appearance by Pink Droyd - a very popular regional midwest Floyd tribute band.... with lighting, effects, and multi-media visuals provided by The Solar Fire Lightshow.

Erik Norlander is an accomplished keyboardist/composer/producer who has recorded over 25 albums with his band Rocket Scientists, his vocalist spouse Lana Lane, and his own 7 solo albums including the stunning Live In St. Petersburg DVD from his landmark concert in Russia. He also produced the 2009 epic, Roswell Six Beyond The Horizon, written by Erik in collaboration with best selling science fiction author Kevin J. Anderson. Erik also plays keyboards for Asia Featuring John Payne and Joe Lynn Turner's Big Noize.

Mark Matthews has been a first call bass player for a diverse assemblage of musical acts such as Skin, Elijah Black, Hypocrit, and 52nd Street. He has also worked with Alan White, Jani Lane, Defcon and Kevin DuBrow.

Nick Lepar studied drums with Joe Vitale (Crosby, Stills & Nash, Joe Walsh) and has been gigging since his high school years touring the Northeast and Midwestern USA with various showcase bands.

Nick has won numerous percussion awards and also played in successful bands like Dreamstreet and Defcon - recording material with the assistance of Survivor members - and toured across the country.

Freddy DeMarco is an in-demand session player with a litany of credits as a co-leader in the DeMarco Brothers Band, opening for Zakk Wylde, Michael Schenker and Nuno Bettencourt and as a guitar/bass instructor and clinician.

The Solar Fire Lightshow is a lighting outfit that has toured internationally with Hawkwind, Gong, Ozric Tentacles, Porcupine Tree and many others.

The Galactic Collective Tracklisting:

1. Arrival
2. Neurosaur
3. Fanfare
4. Sky Full Of Stars
5. Astrology Prelude
6. Trantor Station
7. After The Revolution
8. Garden Of The Moon
9. Dreamcurrents
10. The Dark Water
Bonus track (download only) 11. Garden Of The Moon - long version

[Source: Media Stew PR, Erik Norlander website]

Posted in Album Release News