I\'m A Badass Caption: I can haz links, style or anything that is valid markup :)

CD/DVD Releases: Symfonia Signs With Edel; Debut Album Title, Artwork Revealed

Posted on Sunday, February 13 @ 19:20:00 UTC by nightowl

Symfonia, the new melodic metal project featuring former members of Helloween, Stratovarius, Angra, and Sonata Arctica, has inked a worldwide deal (excluding Asia) with Edel Germany GmbH for the release of the band's debut album, In Paradisum. Due on April 1, the 12-song CD was Studiomega in Varberg, Sweden. [click image for larger image]

Commented Symfonia guitarist Timo Tolkki: "I am extremely happy about the signing with Edel Germany and [marketing office] IAM [International Artist Marketing] and taking the next step in my career. I believe we have now gathered a team that enables Symfonia to bring its music to a wider range of audience around the globe.

"We have worked very hard for six months for this album and we think it is a positive and powerful and yet has a fresh and melodic approach. Last time I felt like this was when I signed the first international record deal with Stratovarius back in 1991. A lot has happened ever since but the ship sails on to a new horizon with new and positive energy and we cannot wait to get In Paradisum released and take it on the road."

Symfonia recently signed a four-album deal with the biggest Japanese metal and rock label Marquee Avalon for the territory of the entire Asian region, including China.

A press release reads as follows: "They are all legends among the melodic metal community. By sheer coincidence, they all found themselves living on the same continent, in Scandinavia. They decided to join forces and express their talents in the form of a new melodic metal project: Symfonia.

"Honoring the heritage of their previous bands Stratovarius, Helloween, Angra and Sonata Arctica, Symfonia continues their superb melodic metal tradition with an incredible musicianship that is a match made in heaven. This is a force that no serious melodic metal fan will be able to ignore."

Symfonia are:

* Timo Tolkki (Stratovarius, Revolution Renaissance) - Guitar
* André Matos (Angra, Shaaman, Viper) - Vocals
* Jari Kainulainen (Stratovarius, Evergrey) - Bass
* Mikko Härkin (Sonata Arctica, Kotipelto) - Keyboards
* Uli Kusch (Masterplan, Helloween) - Drums

Symfonia will make its live debut on February 18, 2011 at the Finnish Metal Expo (part of the Helsinki Metal Meeting) in Helsinki, Finland.

[Source: Blabbermouth.net]

Posted in Album Release News

Associated Topics

Band News (tours, comings/goings, etc)