I\'m A Badass Caption: I can haz links, style or anything that is valid markup :)

CD/DVD Releases: Docker's Guild - ''The Mystic Technocracy (Season 1)'' Release Info

Posted on Saturday, May 26 @ 17:00:00 UTC by nightowl

Docker's Guild is the solo effort of Douglas R. Docker, who put his talent and writing skill into The Mystic Technocracy, an opera which unfolds over 5 seasons.

The first season, called Season I: The Age Of Ignorance, sees the participation of worldwide acclaimed musicians like Gregg Bissonette (David Lee Roth / Joe Satriani), Magnus Jacobson (Miss Behavior), Tony Franklin (Blue Murder), Guthrie Govan (Asia), Jeff Watson (Night Ranger), John Payne (Asia), Göran Edman (ex-Yngwie Malmsteen, Karmakanic), Amanda Somerville (Avantasia / Epica), Tony Mills (TNT/ Shy) and many others and sees release through Lion Music on 15 June 2012.

Docker's Guild, even if inspired by progressive masters like Yes, ELP, Dream Theater and Genesis, lives on its own sounds which is a very personal mixture of progressive roots played and crafted by mainly AOR musicians.

The Mystic Technocracy is a new and exciting science-fiction story and music project that has been in development for a number of years. It is the fictional outcome of a very simple observation: for 4000 years man has tortured, murdered, waged warfare and committed genocide in the name of the same God worshiped by Christians, Jews and Muslims, the three monotheistic religions. It is not a story against religion, but it is a story about the madness of man when he falls under the influence of fanatical dogmatic faith. This religious premise has then been plugged into a science-fiction universe, in which religion was created by a silicon-based life form, the Mystic Technocracy, in order to control, manipulate and eventually destroy humanity.

The sound of The Mystic Technocracy results from the mixture of several music styles. Progressive rock is the main driving force, with Yes, ELP, Dream Theater and Genesis being particularly influential. The songwriting and vocal arrangements have also been inspired by melodic rock and AOR acts, mostly Asia and Journey. More subtle and unusual influences come from Duran Duran, David Bowie, Jean-Michel Jarre and obscure French space-rock act the Rockets. The project therefore contains complex multi-section suites, more straightforward rock songs or ballads, as well as more unusual instrumental or groove-oriented tracks.

On The Mystic Technocracy, Douglas Docker comments, "If you like TV series and 1930s serials like Babylon 5, Space 1999, Flash Gordon and Buck Rogers, this is for you. If you like progressive rock bands like Yes, ELP and Dream Theater, AOR bands like Asia and Journey as well as Duran Duran, David Bowie, Jarre and The Rockets, this is also for you. If you have, like me, a healthy dislike of fundamentalism, and blind dogmatic faith, and spend lots of time wondering why so much pain and destruction can be generated by religions whose main goal is supposed to be love and compassion, then this is definitely for you."

The music is mainly keyboard-oriented and Douglas's fine instrumental work is inspired by musicians like Geoff Downes, Gregg Giuffria and Keith Emerson. The album is a 79 minutes long opera, 10 songs among which 2 long suites, in the perfect tradition of progressive masters’ albums from the past.

View the official album preview video now.


01. A Matter Of Energy
02. The Mystic Technocracy
03. Darwin's Tears
04. Norse Cosmogony (Part 1)
05. Norse Cosmogony (Part 2)
06. Judeo-Christian Cosmogony
07. The Divine Comedy
08. Legion Of Aliens
09. Loving The Alien
10. The Gem Of Love
11. The Secret Of DNA (Part 1)
12. Purple Orb
13. The Secret of DNA (Part 2)
14. Prophecy
15. Black Swans

Douglas R Docker: Keyboards, lead vocals, backing vocals, spoken voice
John Payne: Lead and backing vocals
Göran Edman: Lead and backing vocals, spoken voice
Tony Mills: Lead and backing vocals
Amanda Somerville: Lead and backing vocals
Guthrie Govan: Guitars
Jeff Watson: Rhythm and lead guitar, 12-string guitar
Gregg Bissonette: Drums
Magnus Jacobson: Drums
Tony Franklin: Bass
Donald D. Docker: Alto and tenor sax, clarinet, spoken voice
Additional spoken voices: Silvana Momigliano / Touria Nouri / Andrea Rampa / Janthana Rodjakkhen / Davide Ronfetto

Docker's Guild @ ReverbNation

[Source: Lion Music]

Posted in Album Release News