I\'m A Badass Caption: I can haz links, style or anything that is valid markup :)

CD/DVD Releases: Genesis Release Career Retrospective "R-Kive" Sept 30

Posted on Friday, September 19 @ 22:28:09 UTC by nightowl

Genesis have revealed details of a 3-disc set entitled R-Kive, which will include classic tracks alongside solo material by Peter Gabriel, Phil Collins, Tony Banks, Mike Rutherford and Steve Hackett.

The 37-song collection spans a time period of 42 years [from 1970's "The Knife" to 2012's "Siren" (from Tony Banks's Six: Pieces Of Orchestra, according to Amazon.com]. Will be released September 30, 2014.

The label says: "Genesis and their associated solo projects have accumulated a remarkable series of accomplishments over the years. They've collectively amassed an incredible 14 chart-topping albums, as well as over two dozen more that reached the top 10.

“In total, Genesis and the members’ related solo projects have sold more than 300 million albums worldwide."

The set is arranged chronologically and includes band hits "Invisible Touch," "Turn It On Again," "Land Of Confusion" and "I Can’t Dance." It also features Mike + The Mechanics' "The Living Years" and "Over My Shoulder," Collins' "In The Air Tonight" and "Easy Lover," Gabriel's "Solsbury Hill" and "Biko."

Gabriel - who received the Prog God honour at this year’s Progressive Music Awards – recently filmed a BBC documentary alongside Collins, Banks, Rutherford and Hackett.

R-Kive tracklist

Disc 1:

The Knife
The Musical Box
Supper's Ready
The Cinema Show
I Know What I Like
The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway
Back In NYC
The Carpet Crawlers
Ace of Wands (Hackett solo track)

Disc 2:

Solsbury Hill (Gabriel solo track)
Follow You Follow Me
For A While (Banks solo track)
Every Day (Hackett solo track)
Biko (Gabriel solo track)
Turn It On Again
In The Air Tonight (Collins solo track)
That’s All
Easy Lover
Silent Running (Mike + The Mechanics track)

Disc 3:

Invisible Touch
Land of Confusion
Tonight Tonight Tonight
The Living Years (Mike + The Mechanics track)
Red Day on Blue Street (Banks solo track)
I Can’t Dance
No Son of Mine
Hold On My Heart
Over My Shoulder (Mike + The Mechanics track)
Calling All Stations
Signal To Noise (Gabriel solo track)
Wake Up Call (Collins solo track)
Nomads (Hackett solo track)
Siren (Banks solo track)

[Editorial comment: Really? Collins' represented by "Easy Lover"?? I get "In The Air Tonight" -- classic and for various reasons, holds a lot of meaning for me, so no quibbles there. And no immediate quibbles with the Genesis material or the other solo stuff. But "Easy Lover"?? Not something from what I think has been is biggest solo release, No Jacket Required? "Take Me Home," "Inside Out," ... there are are a ton of great tracks there... all pop, but then so is "Easy Lover." Ok, I'm biased because the non-prog side of me loves NJR... I guess maybe "EL" was a bigger hit for him. Oh well.]

[Source: Blabbermouth.net, Genesis, Amazon]

Posted in Album Release News

Sorry, Comments are not available for this article.